Build a Mashrabiya with cardboards craft workshop – Sign up form

A mashrabiya or mashrabiyya (Arabic: مشربية) is an architectural element which is characteristic of traditional architecture in the Islamic world and beyond.It is a type of projecting oriel window enclosed with carved wood latticework located on the upper floors of a building, sometimes enhanced with stained glass. It was traditionally used to catch wind and for passive cooling. Jars and basins of water could be placed in it to cause evaporative cooling.It is most commonly used on the street side of the building; however, it may also be used internally on the sahn (courtyard) side. In this workshop Mahdi will help kids to make a beautiful craft of Mashrabiya by simplifying the process into small steps.

Educator: Mahdi Tabatabaie Yazdi – Author of Quranic & Hadith infographics book

Ages: 8+

Time 1: 2 PM EST ( 7 PM GMT) – 1 hour

Time 2: 1 AM EST( 6 AM GMT) – 1 hour

Day & Date: Saturday, January 28th

Cost: $10 suggested donation

Where: Google Meet

Supplies: Scissor, ruler, pencil, markers or any kind of stationary which you can use for drawing on recycled materials, paper tape & glue, cardboards, brown paper